Independent. No onboarding vendor owns this site or pays to be on it.

Prices checked 19 Oct – 3 Nov 20266,688 G2 reviews readHow we review →

UserOnboarding Academy

UserGuiding vs Appcues: which onboarding tool fits your team?

Both build product tours, checklists, resource centers and surveys without code, and reviewers praise both for ease of use. They differ in what you pay for: UserGuiding publishes its prices and unlocks features plan by plan, while Appcues includes every feature on every plan and quotes most of them after a call.

By Yağmur Çiftçi · Published 3 Nov 2026 · Updated 4 Nov 2026 · How we compared

UserOnboarding Academy isn't owned by UserGuiding, Appcues or any other tool compared here. No vendor reviewed this page before publication.

UserGuiding

$249 / mo

entry price, Starter, billed yearly ($2,988 / year), or $349 / mo billed monthly; the price covers up to 2,000 MAUs

Priced by
Monthly active users (MAUs)
Free plan
Not listed
Free trial
14-day free trial, no credit card needed; can be extended on request
Native mobile apps
Not supported
Email and push
Not listed
Features by plan
Unlocked by plan
G2 rating
4.7 / 5 from 782 reviews

Choose UserGuiding if

  • you want to see the price before talking to sales: $249 / mo billed yearly for up to 2,000 MAUs
  • your product is a web app and you don't need native mobile guides
  • you want a knowledge base, product-updates feed or session replay in the same tool
  • a 14-day trial without a card and a 30-day money-back guarantee matter to you

Appcues

$3,600 / year

entry price, Spark plan, billed per year, for up to 1,000 MAUs, plus a $250 one-time implementation fee; for teams of 25 or fewer

Priced by
Monthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences
Free plan
Not listed
Free trial
Free trial, no credit card required; starts with a call with sales; length not stated
Native mobile apps
Not listed
Email and push
Included
Features by plan
All on every plan
G2 rating
4.6 / 5 from 362 reviews

Choose Appcues if

  • you want email and push messages from the same tool as your in-app flows
  • you'd rather have every feature from day one than unlock them plan by plan
  • you prefer that going over your MAU limit keeps experiences running, with an upgrade raised at your next billing cycle

UserGuiding or Appcues: which should you choose?

Pick UserGuiding if you run a web app, want to know the price up front and are happy to start on a plan with quotas: Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly for up to 2,000 MAUs, with A/B testing, localization and custom CSS one plan up. Pick Appcues if you want email or push messages alongside in-app guides, or if you'd rather not meet a feature gate: every Appcues plan includes every experience type, feature and integration, but outside the small-team Spark plan ($3,600 / year) you get the price on a call.

Reviewers agree more than they differ. Ease of use is the most-praised theme for both, and missing features are the most-named complaint for both. In the reviews we read, UserGuiding users raise styling limits more often (99 of 782), while Appcues users raise the learning curve (63 of 362) and reporting depth (55 of 362) more often.

How do UserGuiding and Appcues differ?

UserGuiding

A web-only adoption toolkit with published prices, unlocked plan by plan.

UserGuiding covers tours, hotspots, checklists, resource centers, surveys and NPS, banners, a knowledge base and a product-updates feed. Starter caps how many are active (15 guides, 1 checklist, 1 survey); Growth adds A/B testing, localization, custom CSS, session replay and premium integrations. Its FAQ says it doesn't support native mobile apps.

Our UserGuiding review

Appcues

One platform for in-app, email and push, with every feature on every plan.

Appcues builds flows from modals, tooltips and slideouts, plus checklists, Launchpads (its resource center), Pins, banners, and NPS and surveys, and reaches users in-app, by email or by push. Pricing is based on MAUs, installations and published experiences (10 on Spark and Start, 25 on Grow, 100 on Enterprise), and every plan includes every feature.

Our Appcues review

UserGuiding vs Appcues pricing: what does each cost?

UserGuiding figures read on userguiding.com 19 Oct 2026; Appcues figures read on appcues.com 19 Oct 2026.

UserGuidingAppcues
Priced byMonthly active users (MAUs)Monthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences
Free planNot listedNot listed
Free trial14-day free trial, no credit card needed; can be extended on requestFree trial, no credit card required; starts with a call with sales; length not stated
Entry price$249 / mo, Starter, billed yearly ($2,988 / year), or $349 / mo billed monthly; the price covers up to 2,000 MAUs$3,600 / year, Spark plan, billed per year, for up to 1,000 MAUs, plus a $250 one-time implementation fee; for teams of 25 or fewer
PlansStarter, Growth, EnterpriseSpark, Start, Grow, Enterprise
What the plans changeFeatures and per-type quotasMAUs, installations, published experiences, reporting history
Over the MAU limitGuides stop showing until you raise the quotaExperiences keep running; Appcues raises an upgrade at the next billing cycle
Next plan upGrowth: $499 / mo billed yearly, up to 2,000 MAUsStart, Grow: price on a call
Setup feeNot listed$250 one-time on Spark
Refund30-day money-back guaranteeNot listed

UserGuiding's page opens on yearly billing: Starter's $249 / mo is $2,988 a year, or $349 a month billed monthly. Appcues' Spark plan is for teams of 25 or fewer and prints only a yearly price. Both price by monthly active users, so the entry prices buy different amounts: 2,000 MAUs on UserGuiding Starter, 1,000 on Appcues Spark.

UserGuiding vs Appcues features: what can each do?

CapabilityUserGuidingAppcues
Product tours and tooltipsIncludedIncluded
ChecklistsIncludedIncluded
Resource centerIncludedIncluded
In-app surveys and NPSIncludedIncluded
Native mobile appsNot supportedNot listed
A/B testingGrowth plan and upNot listed
LocalizationGrowth plan and upNot listed

Feature by feature

A tick means the vendor’s pages list the feature on every plan or name no plan; text names the plan or version they put it on. A dash means the pages we read don’t mention it, which is not proof the product lacks it. “Only differences” keeps the features just one of the two lists.

FeatureUserGuidingAppcues
Experiences
Multi-step product toursIncludedIncluded
Tooltips and hotspotsIncludedIncluded
Persistent tooltipsNot listedIncluded
Announcement modalsIncludedIncluded
SlideoutsNot listedIncluded
BannersIncludedIncluded
Onboarding checklistsIncludedIncluded
Resource centerIncludedIncluded
Surveys and NPSIncludedIncluded
Knowledge baseIncludedNot listed
Product-updates feedIncludedNot listed
Feature requests and roadmapGrowth plan and upNot listed
Channels
Web appsIncludedIncluded
Native mobile appsNot supportedNot listed
EmailNot listedIncluded
Push notificationsNot listedIncluded
Targeting and analytics
Audience segmentationUp to 10 segments on StarterIncluded
Goal trackingGrowth plan and upIncluded
A/B testingGrowth plan and upNot listed
Event tracking without codeGrowth plan and upIncluded
Session replayGrowth plan and upNot listed
Reporting historyNot listed12 months (Spark, Start) to 36 (Enterprise)
Design and languages
Brand themes1 on Starter, 5 on GrowthIncluded
Custom CSSGrowth plan and upNot listed
LocalizationGrowth plan and up, with AI auto-translateNot listed
AI
AI drafts experiencesIncludedIncluded
AI Assistant with a resolution quota50 free resolutionsNot listed
Connect AI tools to your product dataIncludedIncluded
Integrations
SegmentIncludedIncluded
HubSpotIncludedIncluded
SalesforceIncludedIncluded
MixpanelIncludedIncluded
AmplitudeIncludedNot listed
IntercomIncludedIncluded
SlackIncludedIncluded
Security and admin
SAML single sign-onEnterpriseNot listed
EU data hostingFree on Growth and up; add-on on StarterNot listed

From UserGuiding's and Appcues' own pages (pricing, product, integrations and help-center pages), checked 3 Nov 2026.

Where is each one stronger?

UserGuiding

AreaStrengthLimitation
PricingPrices printed for Starter and Growth, with a 14-day trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee.Each price covers up to 2,000 MAUs; above that it's a quote, and going over the quota hides your guides.
BreadthKnowledge base, product-updates feed, roadmap and session replay alongside in-app guides.Several of these, and A/B testing and localization, start on Growth.
PlatformsIts FAQ says content displays in all modern web browsers, whatever the device.The FAQ says native mobile apps aren't supported, and screens narrower than 800px need a request while UserGuiding tests them.
ReviewsEase of use (456 of 782 reviews read), flow types (310) and the support team (298) lead the praise.Styling limits (99) and builder friction (95) are the most-named complaints after missing features.

Appcues

AreaStrengthLimitation
PricingEvery plan includes every experience type, feature and integration; overages don't switch experiences off.Only Spark ($3,600 / year, teams of 25 or fewer) has a printed price; the trial starts with a sales call.
ChannelsIn-app, email and push from one tool.Published experiences are capped by plan: 10 on Spark and Start.
SupportThe success team is the third most-praised theme (103 of 362 reviews read).Spark adds a $250 one-time implementation fee.
ReviewsEase of use (231 of 362), building without developers (104) and the support team (103) lead the praise.Missing features (102), the learning curve (63) and reporting depth (55) are the most-named complaints.

What do UserGuiding and Appcues reviewers say?

UserGuiding

4.7

782 reviews on G2 · read 3 Nov 2026

Reviewers most often praise ease of use (456 of the 782 reviews read), the range of in-app content such as tours, tooltips, checklists and announcements (310), the support team (298), quick install and setup (238) and building flows without developers (184). The most common criticisms are missing features (182), styling limits (99), friction in the builder and Chrome extension (95) and the learning curve (78), while 162 reviews name no dislike.

G2’s star split

  • 5 stars643 reviews
  • 4 stars128 reviews
  • 3 stars9 reviews
  • 2 stars1 reviews
  • 1 stars1 reviews

G2 counts a 4.5 with the 5-star reviews.

Where the reviews we read came from

  • Invited by UserGuiding 375
  • Organic 325
  • Invited by G2 for UserGuiding 53
  • G2 charity campaign 18
  • Invited by G2 11
  • Incentivized 457

Praised for

  • Easy to use456/782 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals310/782 reviews
  • Customer support and success team298/782 reviews
  • Quick install and setup238/782 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers184/782 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features182/782 reviews
  • Styling limits99/782 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction95/782 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings78/782 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth68/782 reviews

162 of 782 name no dislike at all.

All 782 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2019–2026; 68 in the year before 3 Nov 2026.

Appcues

4.6

362 reviews on G2 · read 3 Nov 2026

Reviewers praise ease of use most (231 of 362 reviews), then building flows without developers (104), the customer support and success team (103), flow types such as tours, tooltips and checklists (80), and targeting and segmentation (73). They criticise missing features most (102), then the learning curve and hard-to-find settings (63), reporting and analytics depth (55), and builder or browser-extension friction (44).

G2’s star split

  • 5 stars285 reviews
  • 4 stars66 reviews
  • 3 stars7 reviews
  • 2 stars1 reviews
  • 1 stars3 reviews

G2 counts a 4.5 with the 5-star reviews.

Where the reviews we read came from

  • Invited by G2 for Appcues 112
  • Invited by Appcues 103
  • Organic 101
  • Invited by G2 43
  • G2 charity campaign 3
  • Incentivized 261

Praised for

  • Easy to use231/362 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers104/362 reviews
  • Customer support and success team103/362 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals80/362 reviews
  • Targeting and segmentation73/362 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features102/362 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings63/362 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth55/362 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction44/362 reviews
  • Bugs and glitches38/362 reviews

44 of 362 name no dislike at all.

All 362 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026; 23 in the year before 3 Nov 2026.

How we compared

Prices, plans and limits come from each vendor’s own pages, read on the dates below through a US browser session; nothing is taken from memory or from other review sites. UserGuiding's were re-checked against screenshots of its live pricing page 19 Oct 2026. Appcues' were re-checked against screenshots of its live pricing page 19 Oct 2026.

UserGuiding on G2: 4.7 / 5 from 782 reviews, read 3 Nov 2026. All 782 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes.

Appcues on G2: 4.6 / 5 from 362 reviews, read 3 Nov 2026. All 362 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes.

Feature cells say “Not listed” when a vendor’s pages don’t mention the feature, not that it’s missing. Spotted something out of date? Write to hello@useronboarding.academy.

UserGuiding vs Appcues: FAQ

Is UserGuiding cheaper than Appcues?

On printed prices, UserGuiding Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly for up to 2,000 MAUs, and Appcues Spark is $3,600 / year for up to 1,000 MAUs plus a $250 implementation fee, for teams of 25 or fewer. Appcues' other plans are priced on a call, so a like-for-like comparison above that needs a quote.

Does UserGuiding work in mobile apps?

Not in native apps: UserGuiding's FAQ says it doesn't support native mobile apps, though content displays in all modern web browsers whatever the device; screens narrower than 800px need a request while it tests them. Appcues sends push notifications; the Appcues pages we read don't say whether its in-app guides run inside native apps.

What happens if I go over my MAU limit?

On UserGuiding, your users stop seeing guides until you raise the quota or your MAU count falls. On Appcues, experiences keep running and the team gets in touch about upgrading at your next billing cycle.

Which has more features?

They overlap on tours, tooltips, checklists, resource centers, banners and surveys. UserGuiding adds a knowledge base, product-updates feed, roadmap and session replay; Appcues adds email, push and slideouts. UserGuiding unlocks some features by plan; Appcues includes all of its features on every plan.

Do I need a developer to use either tool?

Both need installing in your product, and are built to be used without code afterwards. Building flows without developers is a top-five praise theme for both in the reviews we read; a small share of reviewers of each mention needing developers for installation.

Can I try them for free?

UserGuiding offers a 14-day free trial without a credit card. Appcues offers a free trial without a credit card, starting with a call with its team.

How are their G2 ratings?

UserGuiding is rated 4.7 out of 5 from 782 reviews and Appcues 4.6 from 362, as read on 3 Nov 2026. More than half of the reviews we read of each were invited by the vendor, or by G2 on its behalf; the source chips above show the split.

How did you compare them?

We read each vendor's pricing and product pages on 19 Oct 2026 and recorded only what they state, then had an AI model read all of each tool's reviews on G2 (782 for UserGuiding and 362 for Appcues) and tag each against a fixed list of themes. The method section above lists every page and date.

More comparisons