Independent. No onboarding vendor owns this site or pays to be on it.

Prices checked 19 Oct – 3 Nov 20266,688 G2 reviews readHow we review →

UserOnboarding Academy

Alternatives guide · 6 tools compared

Product Fruits alternatives: 6 onboarding tools worth a look

Product Fruits does a lot well: reviewers rate it 4.6 out of 5 and praise its ease of use and support team most, and no paid plan here prints a lower entry price than its Starter. Reasons to look elsewhere include its learning curve, missing features, styling limits, analytics depth, or guides in native Android apps, which its pages don't mention. Here are six alternatives, each for a different need, with the facts read from their own pages.

By Yağmur Çiftçi · Published 4 Nov 2026 · How we chose

UserOnboarding Academy isn't owned by Product Fruits or any tool on this list. No vendor reviewed this page before publication.

Start with what needs to change

Three picks for three different needs

  1. UserGuidingBest fora like-for-like switch, knowledge base includedThe closest match to Product Fruits here, knowledge base and AI assistant included, with surveys on every plan. The learning curve, Product Fruits' most-named complaint, comes up in a smaller share of its G2 reviews: 78 of 782, against 59 of 259.$249 / mo · Free plan: Not listed
  2. ChameleonBest forstyling control and built-in A/B testsIf styling limits are why you're leaving: its reviewers praise its styling and customization in 77 of 364 reviews, and Pro adds branded themes and built-in A/B tests with goals.$279 · Free plan: Not listed
  3. UserpilotBest foronboarding and product analytics in one toolIf analytics depth is why you're leaving: its reviewers praise its analytics in 419 of 1,022 reviews, and Growth adds funnels, retention, paths and event autocapture.$299 / mo · Free plan: Not listed

Stay with Product Fruits if you want a printed price at every tier up to 20,000 MAUs, an AI assistant and a knowledge base on every plan, and flows that keep running when you go over your MAU quota. Check Product Fruits' plans →

Product Fruits and its alternatives, price by price

Prices as each vendor shows them, checked 19 Oct 2026–22 Oct 2026. Each tool prices in its own unit, so entry prices buy different amounts. The rows follow the list’s order: the picks, then A–Z.

ToolEntry priceFree planBilled byG2Consider it for
Product FruitsThe tool you’re replacing$149 / moStarter, billed monthly (or $111 / mo billed yearly) · Up to 1,500 MAUsChecked 22 Oct 2026 on productfruits.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.6 (259)259 reviews readLow printed prices, AI help on every plan
UserGuidingOn the shortlist$249 / moStarter, monthly equivalent, billed yearly (or $349 / mo billed monthly) · Up to 2,000 MAUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userguiding.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.7 (782)782 reviews readLike-for-like switch, knowledge base included
ChameleonOn the shortlist$279Startup, billing period not stated · 2,000 MTUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on chameleon.io (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly tracked users (MTUs) 4.4 (364)364 reviews readDesign control and A/B tests
UserpilotOn the shortlist$299 / moStarter, billing period not stated · Up to 2,000 MAUs and 3 seatsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userpilot.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.6 (1,023)1,022 reviews readOnboarding plus product analytics
Appcues$3,600 / yearSpark, billed yearly · Up to 1,000 MAUs · Teams of 25 or fewer · + $250 one-time implementation feeChecked 19 Oct 2026 on appcues.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences 4.6 (362)362 reviews readWeb, mobile, email and push in one tool
PendoCustom quoteQuote based on MAUs and plan features · Free plan available (Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs)Checked 19 Oct 2026 on pendo.io (opens in a new tab)Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUsMonthly active users (MAUs) plus the functionality in the plan 4.4 (1,827)1,791 reviews readFree up to 500 MAUs; analytics-led
Userflow$300 / moEssentials, billed monthly (or $240 / mo billed yearly) · 1,000 MAUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userflow.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.8 (125)125 reviews readUnlimited seats and experiences

Every tool here prices by monthly active or tracked users, but the printed entry plans cover between 1,000 and 2,000 of them, and Product Fruits' $149 / mo is billed monthly where UserGuiding's $249 / mo is a yearly price and Userpilot's and Chameleon's cards don't say. Appcues also counts installations and published experiences, and Pendo's quotes add the features you choose, so compare at your own MAU count and billing period.

Why people look for Product Fruits alternatives

We read all 259 Product Fruits reviews on G2. The learning curve is the most-named complaint (59 of the 259 reviews we read), from hard-to-find settings to knowing which of its many options to use, with missing features (55) and styling limits (54) close behind, then analytics depth (37); 56 name no dislike. The missing features reviewers name include targeting that can't combine AND and OR conditions, branching within tours and easier translation; on styling, several had to write their own CSS to match their brand. Price is rarely the reason (14): Starter is $149 / mo billed monthly for 1,500 MAUs, or $111 / mo billed yearly.

4.6

259 reviews on G2 · read 3 Nov 2026

Reviewers most often praise ease of use (166 of 259), then the support team (144), the flow types (115), quick setup (86) and building flows without developers (81). The criticism they name most is the learning curve (59), then missing features (55), styling limits (54) and analytics depth (37); 56 name no dislike.

G2’s star split

  • 5 stars209 reviews
  • 4 stars45 reviews
  • 3 stars5 reviews
  • 2 stars0 reviews
  • 1 stars0 reviews

G2 counts a 4.5 with the 5-star reviews.

Where the reviews we read came from

  • Organic 242
  • Invited by G2 17
  • Incentivized 17

Praised for

  • Easy to use166/259 reviews
  • Customer support and success team144/259 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals115/259 reviews
  • Quick install and setup86/259 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers81/259 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings59/259 reviews
  • Missing features55/259 reviews
  • Styling limits54/259 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth37/259 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction25/259 reviews

56 of 259 name no dislike at all.

All 259 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2023–2026; 88 in the year before 3 Nov 2026.

In reviewers’ words

The 6 alternatives in detail

The three picks come first, then the other 3 A–Z by name. A position is not a score.

UserGuiding

Best for a like-for-like switch, knowledge base included · On the shortlist

Entry price
$249 / moStarter, monthly equivalent, billed yearly (or $349 / mo billed monthly) · Up to 2,000 MAUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

UserGuiding covers the same ground as Product Fruits (tours, hotspots, checklists, a resource center, banners, a knowledge base with product updates, and an AI assistant) and adds surveys and NPS on every plan. Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly, or $349 / mo billed monthly, for up to 2,000 MAUs.

UserGuiding's homepage, October 2026
userguiding.com, October 2026
Why pick UserGuiding over Product Fruits
  • The learning curve comes up in a smaller share of its reviews: 78 of the 782 we read, against 59 of the 259 Product Fruits reviews
  • Surveys and NPS on Starter; Product Fruits starts them on Pro
  • Session replay, no-code event tracking and built-in A/B testing on Growth ($499 / mo billed yearly); Product Fruits runs A/B tests through an external tool
  • A 30-day money-back guarantee, and teams under contract with another tool get UserGuiding free until that contract ends
Keep in mind
  • Starter caps live content tightly: 15 guides, 10 hotspots, 1 checklist, 1 survey and 1 resource center, with 3 seats and 10 segments
  • Custom CSS, localization and a private knowledge base start on Growth; Product Fruits lists custom CSS on every plan
  • Over the MAU quota, guides stop showing until the quota is raised, where Product Fruits keeps flows running
  • No native mobile apps, per its own FAQ
  • Missing features (182 of the 782 reviews we read) and styling limits (99) are its most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use456/782 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals310/782 reviews
  • Customer support and success team298/782 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features182/782 reviews
  • Styling limits99/782 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction95/782 reviews

All 782 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2019–2026.

Our UserGuiding review · Pricing read on userguiding.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Chameleon

Best for styling control and built-in A/B tests · On the shortlist

Entry price
$279Startup, billing period not stated · 2,000 MTUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly tracked users (MTUs)

Chameleon builds tours, tooltips, modals, checklists and microsurveys for web apps. Its reviewers praise its styling and customization in 77 of the 364 reviews we read, and its Pro plan adds branded themes with custom CSS, A/B testing with goals, and localization into 5 languages.

Chameleon's homepage, October 2026
chameleon.io, October 2026
Why pick Chameleon over Product Fruits
  • Styling limits come up in a smaller share of its reviews: 37 of the 364 we read, against 54 of the 259 Product Fruits reviews
  • Built-in A/B tests on Pro, with a control group or several variants and goals measured by custom events; Product Fruits runs A/B tests through an external tool
  • Branded themes that anyone on the team can apply
  • A 14-day trial with Enterprise-level access and no card
Features to evaluate
Keep in mind
  • Themes, custom CSS, A/B testing and localization start on Pro, $750 / mo at 5,000 MTUs, billed monthly by card; Startup ($279 for 2,000 MTUs) prints no billing period and allows 10 live experiences
  • In-app help (HelpBar, with AI answers) starts on Growth, $1,750 / mo billed annually; Product Fruits includes a help center and its AI assistant on every plan
  • No native mobile apps; experiences can show in mobile browsers once turned on
  • The learning curve (81 of the 364 reviews we read), missing features (72) and builder friction (70) are its most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use216/364 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals152/364 reviews
  • Customer support and success team132/364 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings81/364 reviews
  • Missing features72/364 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction70/364 reviews

All 364 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Our Chameleon review · Pricing read on chameleon.io checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Userpilot

Best for onboarding and product analytics in one tool · On the shortlist

Entry price
$299 / moStarter, billing period not stated · Up to 2,000 MAUs and 3 seats
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

Userpilot pairs in-app flows with product analytics: usage trends on every plan, and funnels, retention, paths and event autocapture from Growth. Analytics is praised in 419 of the 1,022 reviews we read. Starter is $299 / mo for up to 2,000 MAUs; Growth starts at $849 / mo.

Userpilot's homepage, October 2026
userpilot.com, October 2026
Why pick Userpilot over Product Fruits
  • Analytics is praised in 419 of the 1,022 reviews we read, against 26 of the 259 Product Fruits reviews
  • Funnels, retention, paths and retroactive event autocapture on Growth; Product Fruits' analytics cover how its own flows perform and where users drop off
  • Growth bundles 5k session replays and 100k emails a month
  • Native iOS and Android support on Enterprise, or as an add-on on Growth
Features to evaluate
Keep in mind
  • Starter's billing period isn't stated, and it allows 3 seats and 10 segments; the resource center and surveys beyond NPS start on Growth
  • HubSpot and Salesforce are add-ons on Growth; Product Fruits includes HubSpot from Pro
  • The learning curve is also its most-named complaint (270 of the 1,022 reviews we read), and reporting depth comes up in 185
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use590/1,022 reviews
  • Customer support and success team437/1,022 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals431/1,022 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings270/1,022 reviews
  • Missing features204/1,022 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth185/1,022 reviews

1,022 of the 1,023 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2018–2026.

Our Userpilot review · Pricing read on userpilot.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Appcues

Best for native mobile apps, email and push alongside web

Entry price
$3,600 / yearSpark, billed yearly · Up to 1,000 MAUs · Teams of 25 or fewer · + $250 one-time implementation fee
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences

Appcues builds flows for web apps and for native iOS and Android apps, and sends behavioural email and push from the same platform; its pricing page says every plan includes every experience type, feature and integration. Its one printed price is Spark: $3,600 / year for up to 1,000 MAUs, for teams of 25 or fewer.

Appcues' homepage, October 2026
appcues.com, October 2026
Why pick Appcues over Product Fruits
  • Native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and Ionic (Capacitor) apps on every plan; Product Fruits' FAQ names native iOS only
  • Email and push notifications from the same platform as in-app messages
  • Product analytics with trends, funnels, paths and retention curves, and Click to Track events backfilled from past interactions
Keep in mind
  • Only Spark prints a price, plus a $250 one-time implementation fee and a cap of 10 published experiences; Start, Grow and Enterprise are quoted on a call
  • Priced by installations and published experiences as well as MAUs
  • Its free trial starts with a call with sales
  • Missing features (102 of the 362 reviews we read) and the learning curve (63) are its most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use231/362 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers104/362 reviews
  • Customer support and success team103/362 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features102/362 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings63/362 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth55/362 reviews

All 362 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Our Appcues review · Pricing read on appcues.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Pendo

Best for a free plan, with product analytics at its core

Entry price
Custom quoteQuote based on MAUs and plan features · Free plan available (Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs)
Free plan
Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs) plus the functionality in the plan

Pendo is a product-analytics platform with in-app guides built in, for web and native mobile apps. Analytics is the theme its reviewers praise most by a wide margin (1,393 of the 1,791 reviews we read), and Pendo Free covers up to 500 MAUs.

Pendo's homepage, October 2026
pendo.io, October 2026
Why pick Pendo over Product Fruits
  • A free plan: product analytics, in-app guides and Pendo-branded NPS and roadmaps for up to 500 MAUs
  • Analytics is praised in 1,393 of the 1,791 reviews we read, against 26 of the 259 Product Fruits reviews
  • SDKs for native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and more, with unlimited web and mobile app keys even on Free
  • Retroactive analytics, with data from the day Pendo is installed
Features to evaluate
Keep in mind
  • Paid plans are priced on request; session replay starts on Core, and NPS, PMF and CSAT surveys come with Ultimate or as an add-on
  • On Free, going over 500 MAUs stops new guides, NPS surveys and segments until you upgrade
  • Its 30-day trial of the paid platform is arranged through sales
  • Reporting depth (446 of the 1,791 reviews we read) and the learning curve (428) are its most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Analytics and product insights1,393/1,791 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals862/1,791 reviews
  • Easy to use720/1,791 reviews

Criticised for

  • Reporting and analytics depth446/1,791 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings428/1,791 reviews
  • Missing features362/1,791 reviews

1,791 of the 1,827 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Our Pendo review · Pricing read on pendo.io checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Userflow

Best for small teams that want unlimited seats and experiences

Entry price
$300 / moEssentials, billed monthly (or $240 / mo billed yearly) · 1,000 MAUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

Userflow builds flows, tours, checklists, tooltips, announcements and surveys for web apps, with unlimited experiences and team members on every plan. Essentials is $300 / mo billed monthly for 1,000 MAUs, or $240 / mo billed yearly; its reviewers praise ease of use above all (99 of the 125 reviews on G2).

Userflow's homepage, October 2026
userflow.com, October 2026
Why pick Userflow over Product Fruits
  • Unlimited experiences and team members on every plan, where Product Fruits Starter allows 15 tours, 2 checklists and 3 seats
  • Localization and surveys on every plan; Product Fruits Starter has 1 language and starts surveys on Pro
  • Charts, funnels and dashboards on every plan
  • The learning curve comes up in a smaller share of its reviews: 13 of the 125 we read, against 59 of the 259 Product Fruits reviews
Keep in mind
  • Essentials costs more than Product Fruits Starter ($149 / mo) and covers 1,000 MAUs to its 1,500
  • Custom CSS, custom event trackers, HubSpot and Salesforce, and its in-app AI agent need Studio ($500 / mo); Essentials keeps 6 months of analytics history
  • No native mobile apps, per its help center
  • Most of its reviews were written before 2024; missing features (28 of 125) and price (16) are the most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use99/125 reviews
  • Customer support and success team52/125 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers31/125 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features28/125 reviews
  • Price and plan structure16/125 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth15/125 reviews

All 125 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2020–2026.

Our Userflow review · Pricing read on userflow.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Before you switch from Product Fruits

Product Fruits gives no partial refunds, so time the switch to the end of a paid period, and list what lives only inside it: knowledge base articles, newsfeed posts and the sources Elvin answers from (UserGuiding is the only tool here whose pages list a knowledge base). Its data sits in the EU (Ireland) by default; if it must stay there, note that Chameleon names only US hosting, Pendo defaults to the US, and UserGuiding and Userpilot include EU hosting from Growth (an add-on on UserGuiding's Starter).

  1. Save what you haveExport or screenshot every live flow, checklist and survey with its targeting rules, and note the events and integrations each one depends on.
  2. Rebuild one real flowRecreate your most-used flow in the new tool with the same steps and audience, then check it on the browsers, screen sizes and languages your users have.
  3. Follow the dataCheck that users are identified the same way, that the events your flows fire still arrive, and that your activation reports read the new tool's data.
  4. Price it, then switchGet a quote for your real MAUs or seats, renewal included. Turn the old flow off only once the new one has passed, then cancel the old plan.

Also considered

  • WalkMe, Whatfix and Userlane: Digital adoption platforms sold by quote, aimed largely at the business software a company's staff use. This list is for guiding users through your own product.
  • Intercom: Its product tours, checklists and surveys come in the Proactive Support Plus add-on, bought on top of a customer-service platform priced per seat, so it suits teams whose support already runs on Intercom.

How we chose

How the list is ordered. The three picks come first, each for a different need; the other 3 follow A–Z by name. A position is not a score, and no tool paid to be listed or placed.

A tool is listed only once we've read its own pricing page and its G2 reviews, and only where it answers a reason Product Fruits' own reviewers give for wanting more: an easier learning curve, styling control, deeper analytics, native mobile apps or room beyond Starter's limits. Prices, plans, trials and limits come from each vendor's pages, read through a US browser session on the dates shown with each entry; when a page prints no price, the entry says so.

For reviews, an AI model read every review G2 lists for each tool, or for Pendo and Userpilot every one G2's filters let us reach (1,791 of 1,827 and 1,022 of 1,023), and tagged each one against the same themes for every tool. G2's overall rating and count sit beside our counts; we don't publish review scores of our own.

All 259 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes.

FAQ

What is the best alternative to Product Fruits?

It depends on why you're leaving. For the closest like-for-like switch, knowledge base included, UserGuiding; for styling control and built-in A/B tests, Chameleon; for product analytics alongside onboarding, Userpilot or Pendo; for unlimited seats and experiences, Userflow; for native mobile apps with email and push, Appcues.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Product Fruits?

Not at entry level. Product Fruits Starter is $149 / mo billed monthly for 1,500 MAUs, or $111 / mo billed yearly. UserGuiding's Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly for 2,000 MAUs, Chameleon's Startup $279 for 2,000 MTUs with no billing period printed, Userpilot's Starter $299 / mo for 2,000 MAUs, Userflow's Essentials $300 / mo for 1,000 MAUs and Appcues' Spark $3,600 / year for 1,000 MAUs. Only Pendo Free costs less: nothing, up to 500 MAUs.

Which Product Fruits alternative has a free plan?

Only Pendo lists one: Pendo Free, for up to 500 MAUs, with product analytics, in-app guides and Pendo-branded NPS and roadmaps. UserGuiding, Userflow, Userpilot and Chameleon offer 14-day trials without a card, as Product Fruits does; Appcues' trial starts with a call with sales, and Pendo's 30-day trial of its paid platform is arranged through sales.

Which alternatives work in native mobile apps?

Appcues supports native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and Ionic (Capacitor) apps on every plan, and Pendo lists SDKs for native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and more. Userpilot includes native iOS and Android on Enterprise and sells it as an add-on on Growth. UserGuiding, Userflow and Chameleon don't support native apps, only mobile browsers. Product Fruits' FAQ names native iOS and doesn't mention Android.

Which alternative has the deepest analytics?

Among the reviews we read, Pendo's analytics draw the most praise (1,393 of 1,791), then Userpilot's (419 of 1,022), against 26 of 259 for Product Fruits. Reporting depth is still Pendo's most-named complaint (446) and Userpilot's third (185). Product Fruits reports on its own flows, how each is used and where users drop off; Pendo captures feature clicks and page loads automatically, and Userpilot's Growth and every Appcues plan add funnels, paths and retention.

What happens if I go over my MAU limit?

Product Fruits keeps flows running and doesn't charge automatically; its team gets in touch about a plan that fits. Appcues also keeps experiences running and raises an upgrade at the next billing cycle, and Pendo's paid plans aren't interrupted. UserGuiding stops showing guides until the quota is raised, and Pendo Free stops new guides, NPS surveys and segments over 500 MAUs. The Userflow, Userpilot and Chameleon pages we read don't say.

Which Product Fruits alternative is best for employee onboarding?

For guiding employees through internal software, look at the digital adoption platforms under Also considered: WalkMe, Whatfix and Userlane, all priced by quote. This list is for guiding users through your own product.

How did you pick these tools?

We started from what Product Fruits' reviewers say they miss (an easier learning curve, styling control, deeper analytics, native mobile apps, room beyond Starter's limits) and listed tools that answer one of those. Each had to have a pricing page we could read and G2 reviews we could read and tag against the same themes as every other tool; the method section above explains how.

More comparisons