Independent. No onboarding vendor owns this site or pays to be on it.

Prices checked 19 Oct – 3 Nov 20266,688 G2 reviews readHow we review →

UserOnboarding Academy

Alternatives guide · 7 tools compared

Userpilot alternatives: 7 tools worth a look

Userpilot's reviewers rate it 4.6 out of 5 on G2 and praise its ease of use, its support team, its flows and its analytics. Reasons to look elsewhere include its learning curve, missing features, reporting depth, the seats and features on its entry plan, or guidance in mobile and desktop apps. Here are seven alternatives, each for a different need, with the facts read from their own pages.

By Yağmur Çiftçi · Published 4 Nov 2026 · How we chose

UserOnboarding Academy isn't owned by Userpilot or any tool on this list. No vendor reviewed this page before publication.

Start with what needs to change

Three picks for three different needs

  1. PendoBest fordeeper analytics and native mobile SDKs, with a free plan to startAnalytics is praised in 1,393 of the 1,791 Pendo reviews we read, against 419 of Userpilot's 1,022; Pendo Free covers analytics and in-app guides for up to 500 MAUs, and its mobile page lists SDKs for native iOS and Android.Custom quote · Free plan: Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs
  2. AppcuesBest forin-app, email and push from one tool, with every feature on every planIts pricing page says every plan includes every experience type, feature and integration, email and push among them, where Userpilot starts email, the resource center and A/B testing on Growth.$3,600 / year · Free plan: Not listed
  3. UserflowBest forunlimited seats and experiences at a printed priceEvery plan has unlimited seats and experiences, where Userpilot's Starter has 3 seats and Growth 15, and Essentials prints its price for both billing periods: $300 / mo billed monthly, $240 / mo billed annually.$300 / mo · Free plan: Not listed

Stay with Userpilot if you want in-app flows and product analytics in one tool with printed prices, and can work within Starter's 3 seats and 10 segments or budget for Growth, from $849 a month. Check Userpilot's plans →

Userpilot and its alternatives, price by price

Prices as each vendor shows them, checked 19 Oct 2026–22 Oct 2026. Each tool prices in its own unit, so entry prices buy different amounts. The rows follow the list’s order: the picks, then A–Z.

ToolEntry priceFree planBilled byG2Consider it for
UserpilotThe tool you’re replacing$299 / moStarter, billing period not stated · Up to 2,000 MAUs and 3 seatsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userpilot.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.6 (1,023)1,022 reviews readOnboarding plus product analytics
PendoOn the shortlistCustom quoteQuote based on MAUs and plan features · Free plan available (Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs)Checked 19 Oct 2026 on pendo.io (opens in a new tab)Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUsMonthly active users (MAUs) plus the functionality in the plan 4.4 (1,827)1,791 reviews readAnalytics and mobile; free up to 500 MAUs
AppcuesOn the shortlist$3,600 / yearSpark, billed yearly · Up to 1,000 MAUs · Teams of 25 or fewer · + $250 one-time implementation feeChecked 19 Oct 2026 on appcues.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences 4.6 (362)362 reviews readAll features on all plans; email and push
UserflowOn the shortlist$300 / moEssentials, billed monthly (or $240 / mo billed yearly) · 1,000 MAUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userflow.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.8 (125)125 reviews readUnlimited seats, published prices
Chameleon$279Startup, billing period not stated · 2,000 MTUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on chameleon.io (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly tracked users (MTUs) 4.4 (364)364 reviews readExperiments and styling, self-serve
Product Fruits$149 / moStarter, billed monthly (or $111 / mo billed yearly) · Up to 1,500 MAUsChecked 22 Oct 2026 on productfruits.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.6 (259)259 reviews readLow published prices, AI help built in
UserGuiding$249 / moStarter, monthly equivalent, billed yearly (or $349 / mo billed monthly) · Up to 2,000 MAUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userguiding.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.7 (782)782 reviews readLower yearly prices, web apps
WhatfixCustom quoteQuote based on products and plans (a flat fee each) plus user licencesChecked 19 Oct 2026 on whatfix.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedFlat fee per product and plan, plus user licenses (employee-facing apps: users with access; customer-facing apps: MAUs) 4.6 (563)563 reviews readWeb, desktop and mobile; self-hosting

Userpilot, Pendo, Appcues, UserGuiding, Userflow and Product Fruits count monthly active users and Chameleon monthly tracked users, but their entry plans include different amounts (1,000 at Appcues' Spark and Userflow, 1,500 at Product Fruits, 2,000 at Userpilot, UserGuiding and Chameleon) and different seat counts, from 3 on Userpilot's Starter to unlimited at Userflow. Pendo's paid plans and Whatfix (a flat fee per product plus user licences) are quoted, so price them at your own MAUs.

Why people look for Userpilot alternatives

We read the 1,022 Userpilot reviews G2's filters let us reach (it lists 1,023). The learning curve is the most-named complaint (270), ahead of missing features (204), reporting and analytics depth (185) and friction in the builder (104). Price and plan structure come up less often (73), but the pricing page doesn't say whether Starter ($299 / mo) or Growth (from $849 a month) is billed monthly or yearly. Starter allows 3 seats and 10 segments, and, as we read the dashes in its pricing table, funnels, A/B testing, email and custom CSS start on Growth.

4.6

1,023 reviews on G2 · read 3 Nov 2026

Reviewers most often praise ease of use (590 of 1,022 reviews), the support team (437), the flow types such as tours, tooltips and checklists (431) and analytics (419). The criticisms named most are the learning curve and hard-to-find settings (270), missing features (204) and reporting and analytics depth (185), while 135 reviews name no dislike.

G2’s star split

  • 5 stars790 reviews
  • 4 stars220 reviews
  • 3 stars12 reviews
  • 2 stars1 reviews
  • 1 stars0 reviews

G2 counts a 4.5 with the 5-star reviews.

Where the reviews we read came from

  • Organic 987
  • Invited by G2 34
  • G2 charity campaign 1
  • Incentivized 46

Praised for

  • Easy to use590/1,022 reviews
  • Customer support and success team437/1,022 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals431/1,022 reviews
  • Analytics and product insights419/1,022 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers291/1,022 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings270/1,022 reviews
  • Missing features204/1,022 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth185/1,022 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction104/1,022 reviews
  • Bugs and glitches81/1,022 reviews

135 of 1,022 name no dislike at all.

1,022 of the 1,023 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2018–2026; 168 in the year before 3 Nov 2026.

In reviewers’ words

The 7 alternatives in detail

The three picks come first, then the other 4 A–Z by name. A position is not a score.

Pendo

Best for deeper analytics and native mobile SDKs, with a free plan to start · On the shortlist

Entry price
Custom quoteQuote based on MAUs and plan features · Free plan available (Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs)
Free plan
Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs) plus the functionality in the plan

Pendo is a product-analytics platform with in-app guides for web and mobile apps. Analytics is the theme its reviewers praise most (1,393 of the 1,791 reviews we read, against 419 of 1,022 for Userpilot), and Pendo Free covers up to 500 MAUs.

Pendo's homepage, October 2026
pendo.io, October 2026
Why pick Pendo over Userpilot
  • A free plan: product analytics, in-app guides and Pendo-branded NPS and roadmaps for up to 500 MAUs; Userpilot lists none
  • SDKs for native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter, SwiftUI and other frameworks on its mobile page; Userpilot's mobile engagement, native iOS and Android included, is an add-on on Growth and part of Enterprise
  • On paid plans, going over the MAU limit doesn't stop anything, per its pricing FAQ; Userpilot's page doesn't say what happens
Features to evaluate
Keep in mind
  • Base, Core and Ultimate are priced on request, where Userpilot prints Starter and Growth
  • Builder and feature-tagging friction is criticised in 306 of the 1,791 reviews we read (Userpilot: 104), the learning curve in 428 and reporting depth in 446
  • Session replay is an add-on on Base; NPS and other surveys are add-ons on Base and Core
  • Its support team is praised in 272 of the 1,791 reviews we read (Userpilot: 437)
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Analytics and product insights1,393/1,791 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals862/1,791 reviews
  • Easy to use720/1,791 reviews

Criticised for

  • Reporting and analytics depth446/1,791 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings428/1,791 reviews
  • Missing features362/1,791 reviews

1,791 of the 1,827 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Pendo vs Userpilot, compared in full · Our Pendo review · Pricing read on pendo.io checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Appcues

Best for in-app, email and push from one tool, with every feature on every plan · On the shortlist

Entry price
$3,600 / yearSpark, billed yearly · Up to 1,000 MAUs · Teams of 25 or fewer · + $250 one-time implementation fee
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences

Appcues builds flows, checklists, pins, banners, Launchpads and NPS surveys, and sends email and push from the same platform. Its pricing page says every plan includes every experience type, feature and integration; Spark, for teams of 25 or fewer, is $3,600 / year for up to 1,000 MAUs, and other plans are quoted.

Appcues' homepage, October 2026
appcues.com, October 2026
Why pick Appcues over Userpilot
  • No features held back by plan, per its pricing page; Userpilot's table shows dashes on Starter for funnels, A/B testing, email and the resource center
  • Email and push from the same tool on every plan; Userpilot's table shows a dash for email on Starter and marks mobile push as an add-on on Growth
  • Native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and Ionic apps on every plan, per its pricing page and docs; Userpilot's mobile engagement is an add-on on Growth and part of Enterprise
  • A learning curve comes up in 63 of the 362 reviews we read, most of them written before 2024, against 270 of 1,022 for Userpilot
  • Over plan limits, experiences keep running and Appcues raises an upgrade at the next billing cycle; Userpilot's page doesn't say what happens over the MAU limit
Keep in mind
  • Only Spark prints a price ($3,600 / year plus a $250 one-time implementation fee, for teams of 25 or fewer); Start, Grow and Enterprise are quoted on a call
  • Published experiences are capped by plan: 10 on Spark and Start, 25 on Grow, 100 on Enterprise
  • Analytics is praised in 57 of the 362 reviews we read (Userpilot: 419 of 1,022), and missing features are the most-named complaint (102)
  • The free trial starts with a call; Userpilot's 14-day trial starts from a sign-up link
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use231/362 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers104/362 reviews
  • Customer support and success team103/362 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features102/362 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings63/362 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth55/362 reviews

All 362 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Appcues vs Userpilot, compared in full · Our Appcues review · Pricing read on appcues.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Userflow

Best for unlimited seats and experiences at a printed price · On the shortlist

Entry price
$300 / moEssentials, billed monthly (or $240 / mo billed yearly) · 1,000 MAUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

Userflow builds flows, checklists, tooltips, announcements, surveys and a resource center for web apps, with unlimited seats and experiences on every plan. Essentials is $300 / mo billed monthly, or $240 / mo billed annually, for 1,000 MAUs.

Userflow's homepage, October 2026
userflow.com, October 2026
Why pick Userflow over Userpilot
  • Unlimited seats on every plan, where Userpilot's Starter has 3 and Growth 15
  • Prices printed for both billing periods (Studio: $500 / mo, or $400 billed annually), and extra MAUs priced in blocks of 1,000 from $40 / mo
  • A resource center and NPS, CSAT and custom surveys on every plan
  • A learning curve comes up in 13 of its 125 reviews, 102 of them from 2020 to 2023 (Userpilot: 270 of 1,022)
Keep in mind
  • Essentials includes 1,000 MAUs, half of Userpilot Starter's 2,000
  • Essentials keeps 6 months of analytics history (Studio: 12); analytics depth is criticised in 15 of the 125 reviews and praised in 15
  • Custom CSS, custom event trackers and the HubSpot and Salesforce integrations start on Studio
  • Its help center says native iOS and Android apps aren't supported; mobile web apps are
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use99/125 reviews
  • Customer support and success team52/125 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers31/125 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features28/125 reviews
  • Price and plan structure16/125 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth15/125 reviews

All 125 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2020–2026.

Userflow vs Userpilot, compared in full · Our Userflow review · Pricing read on userflow.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Chameleon

Best for A/B tests, custom CSS and localization on a self-serve monthly plan

Entry price
$279Startup, billing period not stated · 2,000 MTUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly tracked users (MTUs)

Chameleon builds tours, tooltips, microsurveys, checklists and embeddables, priced by monthly tracked users. Startup starts at $279 for 2,000 MTUs; Pro, from $750 a month billed monthly by card, lists A/B testing, custom CSS and localization in 5 languages.

Chameleon's homepage, October 2026
chameleon.io, October 2026
Why pick Chameleon over Userpilot
  • A/B testing, custom CSS and localization on Pro, bought self-serve from $750 / mo; Userpilot's table shows a dash for each on Starter, and its Growth plan, from $849 / mo, has a 'Get a Demo' button
  • Microsurveys on every plan, Startup included; Userpilot's Starter lists NPS, and its table shows a dash for other surveys
  • Styling and customization is praised in 77 of the 364 reviews we read (Userpilot: 109 of 1,022)
Keep in mind
  • Its pages describe analytics of how experiences perform, not of general product usage; Userpilot lists usage trends on every plan
  • Live experiences are capped at 10 on Startup and 20 on Pro; unlimited starts at Growth, from $1,750 / mo billed annually
  • Startup's card prints no billing period, and its help center says native iOS and Android apps aren't supported
  • The learning curve (81 of 364) and builder friction (70) are among the most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use216/364 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals152/364 reviews
  • Customer support and success team132/364 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings81/364 reviews
  • Missing features72/364 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction70/364 reviews

All 364 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Chameleon vs Userpilot, compared in full · Our Chameleon review · Pricing read on chameleon.io checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Product Fruits

Best for low printed prices at every tier up to 20,000 MAUs, with an AI assistant on every plan

Entry price
$149 / moStarter, billed monthly (or $111 / mo billed yearly) · Up to 1,500 MAUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

Product Fruits builds tours, hints, checklists, branching flows, announcements and a knowledge base for web apps, and every plan includes Elvin, an AI assistant that answers users in the app from your docs. Starter is $149 / mo billed monthly, or $111 / mo billed annually, for up to 1,500 MAUs, and Starter, Pro and Business print their prices up to 20,000 MAUs. Reviewers praise its ease of use (166 of the 259 reviews we read) and its support team (144).

Product Fruits' homepage, October 2026
productfruits.com, October 2026
Why pick Product Fruits over Userpilot
  • Lower printed prices, for both billing periods: at 3,000 MAUs, Starter is $199 / mo billed monthly or $149 billed annually, against Userpilot Starter's $299 / mo for 2,000 MAUs
  • A help center, newsfeed and public knowledge base on every plan; Userpilot's resource center starts on Growth
  • Over the MAU quota, flows keep working and nothing is charged automatically; Userpilot's page doesn't say what happens
  • Its support team is praised in 144 of the 259 reviews we read, against 437 of Userpilot's 1,022
Features to evaluate
Keep in mind
  • Starter has linear flows only (branching starts on Pro) and caps content at 15 tours, 50 hints and 2 checklists, with 1 language, 3 seats and 5 segments; surveys and NPS also start on Pro, where Userpilot's Starter includes NPS
  • Its analytics report on onboarding content, and the pages we read don't describe analytics of general product usage; analytics is praised in 26 of the 259 reviews we read (Userpilot: 419 of 1,022)
  • The learning curve (59 of 259), missing features (55) and styling limits (54) are the most-named complaints
  • Its FAQ names native iOS apps but not Android; Salesforce, SAML SSO and user roles start on Business ($499 / mo, or $374 billed annually, at 1,500 MAUs)
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use166/259 reviews
  • Customer support and success team144/259 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals115/259 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings59/259 reviews
  • Missing features55/259 reviews
  • Styling limits54/259 reviews

All 259 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2023–2026.

Our Product Fruits review · Pricing read on productfruits.com checked 22 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

UserGuiding

Best for web apps that want a lower yearly price

Entry price
$249 / moStarter, monthly equivalent, billed yearly (or $349 / mo billed monthly) · Up to 2,000 MAUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

UserGuiding builds tours, hotspots, checklists, resource centers and surveys for web apps, and adds a knowledge base and a product-updates feed. Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly for up to 2,000 MAUs, the same MAU allowance as Userpilot's Starter.

UserGuiding's homepage, October 2026
userguiding.com, October 2026
Why pick UserGuiding over Userpilot
  • Lower prices billed yearly, with the billing period stated: Starter $249 / mo and Growth $499 / mo, against Userpilot's $299 / mo and from $849 / mo
  • A 30-day money-back guarantee; Userpilot's page lists no refund terms
  • A resource center on every plan; Userpilot's table shows a dash for it on Starter
  • A learning curve comes up in 78 of the 782 reviews we read, against 270 of 1,022 for Userpilot, and quick setup is praised in 238
Keep in mind
  • No native mobile apps, per its own FAQ
  • Starter caps active content at 15 guides, 10 hotspots, 1 checklist and 1 survey; A/B testing, localization and custom CSS start on Growth
  • Going over the MAU quota stops your guides from showing
  • Analytics is praised in 100 of the 782 reviews we read (Userpilot: 419 of 1,022), and styling limits are criticised in 99
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use456/782 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals310/782 reviews
  • Customer support and success team298/782 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features182/782 reviews
  • Styling limits99/782 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction95/782 reviews

All 782 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2019–2026.

UserGuiding vs Userpilot, compared in full · Our UserGuiding review · Pricing read on userguiding.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Whatfix

Best for products on web, desktop and mobile, with self-hosting as an option

Entry price
Custom quoteQuote based on products and plans (a flat fee each) plus user licences
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Flat fee per product and plan, plus user licenses (employee-facing apps: users with access; customer-facing apps: MAUs)

Whatfix adds walkthroughs, smart tips, task lists and pop-ups to web and desktop apps, with separate plans for mobile apps and for Windows and Mac, for customer- or employee-facing software. For customer-facing apps it licenses by monthly active user, plus a flat fee per product and plan; no price is printed.

Whatfix's homepage, October 2026
whatfix.com, October 2026
Why pick Whatfix over Userpilot
  • Plans for web and desktop apps, mobile apps, and Windows and Mac; the Userpilot pages we read don't mention desktop apps
  • Cloud or self-hosted deployment on the Standard and Premium web and desktop plans
  • Its support team is its most-praised theme (331 of the 563 reviews we read; Userpilot: 437 of 1,022), and a learning curve comes up in 98 (Userpilot: 270)
  • Product Analytics Standard is included free with any web and desktop plan
Features to evaluate
Keep in mind
  • No printed prices: a flat fee per product and plan plus user licences, quoted after a demo
  • Standard is limited to 2 integrations and manual translation; auto translation and custom surveys are on Premium
  • Analytics is praised in 76 of the 563 reviews we read, against 419 of 1,022 for Userpilot
  • Standard support runs 24 hours a day, Monday to Friday; 24/7 support is an add-on
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Customer support and success team331/563 reviews
  • Easy to use237/563 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals179/563 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features98/563 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings98/563 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction67/563 reviews

All 563 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2015–2026.

Whatfix vs Userpilot, compared in full · Our Whatfix review · Pricing read on whatfix.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Before you switch from Userpilot

Userpilot lists bulk data export and import on Enterprise, and as an add-on on Growth, so check what your plan lets you take out before you cancel: Starter keeps 1 year of data and Growth 3. If you send email from Userpilot (Growth includes 100k a month), check the new tool's channels: Appcues lists email on every plan, and Product Fruits describes flows that continue by email.

  1. Save what you haveExport or screenshot every live flow, checklist and survey with its targeting rules, and note the events and integrations each one depends on.
  2. Rebuild one real flowRecreate your most-used flow in the new tool with the same steps and audience, then check it on the browsers, screen sizes and languages your users have.
  3. Follow the dataCheck that users are identified the same way, that the events your flows fire still arrive, and that your activation reports read the new tool's data.
  4. Price it, then switchGet a quote for your real MAUs or seats, renewal included. Turn the old flow off only once the new one has passed, then cancel the old plan.

Also considered

  • Intercom: Its product tours, checklists and surveys sit in an add-on to a customer-service platform, and G2 now lists Intercom as Fin, its AI agent, so its G2 rating and review count cover the whole suite rather than the tours. If your support team already works in Intercom, our Userpilot vs Intercom page compares the two.
  • WalkMe: It sells a version for customers, but its pricing page prints no price, tier or trial, and its analytics draw less praise than Userpilot's in the reviews we read (113 of 583, against 419 of 1,022). Whatfix, listed above, covers the same employee and customer ground.
  • Userlane and Apty: Built to guide employees through business software such as ERP and CRM systems, not the users of your own product.
  • Stonly and iorad: Built for support content and training tutorials respectively, rather than analytics and guides inside your own product.
  • Nickelled: Its site now redirects to Omniplex Learning, a learning and development company, and no page we read describes the product.

How we chose

How the list is ordered. The three picks come first, each for a different need; the other 4 follow A–Z by name. A position is not a score, and no tool paid to be listed or placed.

A tool is listed only once we've read its own pricing page and its G2 reviews. Prices, plans, trials and limits come from each vendor's pages, read through a US browser session on the dates shown with each entry; when a page prints no price, the entry says so.

For reviews, an AI model read every G2 review of each tool, as far as G2's filters reach (for Pendo, 1,791 of the 1,827 it lists; for Userpilot, 1,022 of 1,023), and tagged each one against the same themes for every tool. G2's overall rating and count sit beside our counts; we don't publish review scores of our own.

1,022 of the 1,023 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes.

FAQ

What is the best alternative to Userpilot?

It depends on why you're leaving. For deeper analytics and native mobile SDKs with a free plan, Pendo; for every feature on every plan plus email and push, Appcues; for lower yearly prices on a web app, UserGuiding; for unlimited seats, Userflow; for low printed prices at every tier up to 20,000 MAUs, Product Fruits; for A/B tests and styling on a self-serve plan, Chameleon; for web, desktop and mobile apps with self-hosting, Whatfix.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Userpilot?

Userpilot's Starter is $299 / mo for up to 2,000 MAUs, and its page doesn't say how that's billed. UserGuiding's Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly for up to 2,000 MAUs; Product Fruits' Starter is $149 / mo billed monthly, or $111 a month billed annually, for 1,500 MAUs; Userflow's Essentials is $300 / mo billed monthly, or $240 a month billed annually, for 1,000 MAUs; Chameleon's Startup starts at $279 for 2,000 monthly tracked users, with no billing period printed. Pendo Free costs nothing up to 500 MAUs. Each counts users its own way, so compare at your own volume.

Which Userpilot alternative has a free plan?

Of the tools here, only Pendo lists one: Pendo Free, for up to 500 MAUs, with product analytics, in-app guides and Pendo-branded NPS and roadmaps. UserGuiding, Userflow, Chameleon and Product Fruits offer 14-day trials without a card, Pendo a 30-day trial through sales, and Appcues a trial that starts with a call; Whatfix's FAQ mentions one, but its link opens a demo request. Userpilot has a 14-day trial without a card.

Which alternatives support mobile apps?

Pendo lists SDKs for native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and more, and Appcues lists native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and Ionic apps on every plan. Whatfix sells a separate plan for mobile apps, and Product Fruits' FAQ names native iOS apps but not Android. UserGuiding, Userflow and Chameleon say they don't support native mobile apps. Userpilot's mobile engagement, native iOS and Android included, is an add-on on Growth and part of Enterprise.

Which tool has the best analytics?

Among the reviews we read, analytics is the most-praised theme for Pendo (1,393 of 1,791), and Userpilot's is praised in 419 of 1,022. Both also draw complaints about reporting depth: 446 for Pendo and 185 for Userpilot. Chameleon's pages describe analytics of how its experiences perform rather than of general product usage.

Which Userpilot alternative is easiest to learn?

The learning curve is Userpilot's most-named complaint, in 270 of the 1,022 reviews we read. Among the alternatives it comes up in 13 of Userflow's 125, 78 of UserGuiding's 782, 63 of Appcues' 362, 98 of Whatfix's 563, 81 of Chameleon's 364, 59 of Product Fruits' 259 and 428 of Pendo's 1,791. The readings differ in size and date: most of the Userflow and Appcues reviews we read predate 2024.

How did you pick these tools?

Each had to have a pricing page we could read and G2 reviews we could read and tag against the same themes as every other tool, and to suit SaaS teams that want in-app guidance alongside product analytics. The method section above explains how the reviews were read.

More comparisons