Independent. No onboarding vendor owns this site or pays to be on it.

Prices checked 19 Oct – 3 Nov 20266,688 G2 reviews readHow we review →

UserOnboarding Academy

Alternatives guide · 6 tools compared

Pendo alternatives: 6 tools worth a look

Pendo pairs product analytics with in-app guides for web and mobile apps, and reviewers rate it 4.4 out of 5, praising its analytics above all. Reasons to look elsewhere include reporting depth, its learning curve, missing features, friction with the guide builder and feature tagging, or wanting a paid price you can see without a sales call. Here are six alternatives, each for a different need, with the facts read from their own pages.

By Yağmur Çiftçi · Published 4 Nov 2026 · How we chose

UserOnboarding Academy isn't owned by Pendo or any tool on this list. No vendor reviewed this page before publication.

Start with what needs to change

Three picks for three different needs

  1. UserpilotBest forproduct analytics and in-app flows with prices on the pageIt prints Starter ($299 / mo for up to 2,000 MAUs) and Growth (from $849 / mo), where Pendo quotes every paid plan, and pairs its flows with product analytics, praised in 419 of the 1,022 reviews we read.$299 / mo · Free plan: Not listed
  2. AppcuesBest forin-app, email and push from one tool, with every feature on every planIts pricing page says every plan includes every experience type, feature and integration, where Pendo holds session replay and sentiment surveys for higher plans or add-ons, and it sends email and push from the same platform.$3,600 / year · Free plan: Not listed
  3. WhatfixBest forguiding employees as well as customers, across web, desktop and mobile appsIt has plans for web and desktop apps, mobile apps, and Windows and Mac, and 115 of the 563 reviews we read praise it for internal software, against 17 of Pendo's 1,791.Custom quote · Free plan: Not listed

Stay with Pendo if you want product analytics and in-app guides in one tool across web and mobile apps, and want to start free up to 500 MAUs. Check Pendo's plans →

Pendo and its alternatives, price by price

Prices as each vendor shows them, checked 19 Oct 2026. Each tool prices in its own unit, so entry prices buy different amounts. The rows follow the list’s order: the picks, then A–Z.

ToolEntry priceFree planBilled byG2Consider it for
PendoThe tool you’re replacingCustom quoteQuote based on MAUs and plan features · Free plan available (Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUs)Checked 19 Oct 2026 on pendo.io (opens in a new tab)Pendo Free, up to 500 MAUsMonthly active users (MAUs) plus the functionality in the plan 4.4 (1,827)1,791 reviews readAnalytics-led teams; free up to 500 MAUs
UserpilotOn the shortlist$299 / moStarter, billing period not stated · Up to 2,000 MAUs and 3 seatsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userpilot.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.6 (1,023)1,022 reviews readAnalytics plus flows, published prices
AppcuesOn the shortlist$3,600 / yearSpark, billed yearly · Up to 1,000 MAUs · Teams of 25 or fewer · + $250 one-time implementation feeChecked 19 Oct 2026 on appcues.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences 4.6 (362)362 reviews readIn-app, email and push in one tool
WhatfixOn the shortlistCustom quoteQuote based on products and plans (a flat fee each) plus user licencesChecked 19 Oct 2026 on whatfix.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedFlat fee per product and plan, plus user licenses (employee-facing apps: users with access; customer-facing apps: MAUs) 4.6 (563)563 reviews readEmployee and customer apps, incl. desktop
Chameleon$279Startup, billing period not stated · 2,000 MTUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on chameleon.io (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly tracked users (MTUs) 4.4 (364)364 reviews readExperiments and design control
Userflow$300 / moEssentials, billed monthly (or $240 / mo billed yearly) · 1,000 MAUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userflow.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.8 (125)125 reviews readSmall teams on a budget
UserGuiding$249 / moStarter, monthly equivalent, billed yearly (or $349 / mo billed monthly) · Up to 2,000 MAUsChecked 19 Oct 2026 on userguiding.com (opens in a new tab)Not listedMonthly active users (MAUs) 4.7 (782)782 reviews readWeb apps that want published prices

Pendo, Userpilot, UserGuiding, Userflow and Appcues all count monthly active users and Chameleon monthly tracked users, but Pendo prices its paid plans on MAUs plus the features in the plan, and Appcues also counts installations and published experiences, so price each at your own MAUs and the features you use. Whatfix charges a flat fee per product and plan plus user licences (MAUs, for customer-facing apps), so it needs a quote too.

Why people look for Pendo alternatives

We read the 1,791 Pendo reviews G2's filters let us reach (it lists 1,827). Reporting depth (446) and the learning curve (428) are the most-named complaints, ahead of missing features (362) and friction with the guide builder and feature tagging (306), even though analytics is the theme its reviewers praise most (1,393). 119 say setup needs developers or a lot of time, and 148 mention price or features held back for higher plans and add-ons: Pendo Free covers up to 500 MAUs, but Base, Core and Ultimate are all quoted on request.

4.4

1,827 reviews on G2 · read 3 Nov 2026

Reviewers praise Pendo most for its analytics and product insights (1,393 of 1,791 reviews), then its guides, tooltips and other flow types (862) and ease of use (720). They criticise most the depth of its reporting and analytics (446), then its learning curve and hard-to-find settings (428), missing features (362) and friction with the guide builder and feature tagging (306).

G2’s star split

  • 5 stars1,254 reviews
  • 4 stars490 reviews
  • 3 stars57 reviews
  • 2 stars11 reviews
  • 1 stars15 reviews

G2 counts a 4.5 with the 5-star reviews.

Where the reviews we read came from

  • Invited by G2 for Pendo 899
  • Invited by Pendo 256
  • G2 charity campaign 255
  • Organic 141
  • Invited by G2 120
  • In-app prompt 119
  • G2 thank-you page 1
  • Incentivized 1,526

Praised for

  • Analytics and product insights1,393/1,791 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals862/1,791 reviews
  • Easy to use720/1,791 reviews
  • In-app surveys and NPS400/1,791 reviews
  • Targeting and segmentation293/1,791 reviews

Criticised for

  • Reporting and analytics depth446/1,791 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings428/1,791 reviews
  • Missing features362/1,791 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction306/1,791 reviews
  • Price and plan structure148/1,791 reviews

133 of 1,791 name no dislike at all.

1,791 of the 1,827 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026; 259 in the year before 3 Nov 2026.

In reviewers’ words

The 6 alternatives in detail

The three picks come first, then the other 3 A–Z by name. A position is not a score.

Userpilot

Best for product analytics and in-app flows with prices on the page · On the shortlist

Entry price
$299 / moStarter, billing period not stated · Up to 2,000 MAUs and 3 seats
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

Userpilot pairs no-code in-app flows, checklists and surveys with product analytics and session replay. Starter is $299 / mo for up to 2,000 MAUs and 3 seats, and Growth starts at $849 / mo. Its reviewers praise analytics in 419 of the 1,022 reviews we read, behind ease of use (590), its support team (437) and flow types (431).

Userpilot's homepage, October 2026
userpilot.com, October 2026
Why pick Userpilot over Pendo
  • Prices printed for Starter and Growth, where Pendo quotes every paid plan
  • A 14-day trial without a card, started from the pricing page; Pendo's 30-day trial starts by talking to sales
  • Growth bundles event autocapture, 5k session replays a month and 100k emails a month
  • Ease of use is praised in 590 of the 1,022 reviews we read, against 720 of Pendo's 1,791
Keep in mind
  • No free plan; Starter allows 3 seats and 10 segments, and funnels, retention, paths and autocapture start on Growth
  • Mobile engagement is on Enterprise, or an add-on on Growth; Pendo includes mobile app keys even on its free plan
  • The learning curve is the most-named complaint (270 of 1,022), and reporting depth comes up in 185
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use590/1,022 reviews
  • Customer support and success team437/1,022 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals431/1,022 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings270/1,022 reviews
  • Missing features204/1,022 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth185/1,022 reviews

1,022 of the 1,023 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2018–2026.

Userpilot vs Pendo, compared in full · Our Userpilot review · Pricing read on userpilot.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Appcues

Best for in-app, email and push from one tool, with every feature on every plan · On the shortlist

Entry price
$3,600 / yearSpark, billed yearly · Up to 1,000 MAUs · Teams of 25 or fewer · + $250 one-time implementation fee
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs), number of installations and published experiences

Appcues builds flows, checklists, pins, banners and surveys, and sends email and push from the same platform. Every plan includes every experience type, feature and integration; the one printed price is Spark, $3,600 / year for up to 1,000 MAUs and teams of 25 or fewer. Reviewers praise its ease of use most (231 of the 362 reviews we read).

Appcues' homepage, October 2026
appcues.com, October 2026
Why pick Appcues over Pendo
  • Every experience type, feature and integration on every plan, where Pendo holds session replay, surveys and journey orchestration for higher plans or add-ons
  • Email and push from the same platform as in-app messages
  • Ease of use is praised in 231 of the 362 reviews we read, against 720 of Pendo's 1,791, and builder friction criticised in 44, against 306
  • A printed price for small teams: Spark, $3,600 / year
Keep in mind
  • No free plan; Start, Grow and Enterprise are quoted after a call, and Spark adds a $250 one-time implementation fee
  • Published experiences are capped by plan: 10 on Spark and Start, 25 on Grow, 100 on Enterprise
  • Missing features are the most-named complaint (102 of 362), and reporting depth comes up in 55
  • Priced partly by installations: its docs say installing Appcues in more than one product costs extra, where Pendo Free includes unlimited web and mobile app keys
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use231/362 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers104/362 reviews
  • Customer support and success team103/362 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features102/362 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings63/362 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth55/362 reviews

All 362 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Our Appcues review · Pricing read on appcues.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Whatfix

Best for guiding employees as well as customers, across web, desktop and mobile apps · On the shortlist

Entry price
Custom quoteQuote based on products and plans (a flat fee each) plus user licences
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Flat fee per product and plan, plus user licenses (employee-facing apps: users with access; customer-facing apps: MAUs)

Whatfix guides users through web, desktop and mobile applications, for employees or customers, and sells product analytics alongside; Product Analytics Standard comes free with a web and desktop plan. Its support team is the theme reviewers praise most (331 of the 563 reviews we read).

Whatfix's homepage, October 2026
whatfix.com, October 2026
Why pick Whatfix over Pendo
  • Built for employee-facing apps as well as your own product: 115 of the 563 reviews we read praise it for internal software, against 17 of Pendo's 1,791
  • Desktop apps, including Citrix and Azure Virtual Desktop on Premium, and a separate plan for Windows and Mac
  • Support is praised in 331 of the 563 reviews we read, against 272 of Pendo's 1,791
  • Cloud or self-hosted deployment on its Standard and Premium web and desktop plans
Features to evaluate
Keep in mind
  • No free plan and no printed prices: a flat fee per product plus user licences, quoted after a demo
  • Auto tracking and event properties aren't available on desktop apps
  • Missing features (98 of 563) and the learning curve (98) are the most-named complaints
  • Standard is limited to 2 integrations
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Customer support and success team331/563 reviews
  • Easy to use237/563 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals179/563 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features98/563 reviews
  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings98/563 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction67/563 reviews

All 563 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2015–2026.

Our Whatfix review · Pricing read on whatfix.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Chameleon

Best for A/B-tested tours and microsurveys on a self-serve monthly plan

Entry price
$279Startup, billing period not stated · 2,000 MTUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly tracked users (MTUs)

Chameleon builds tours, tooltips, microsurveys, checklists and embeddables for your own web app, priced by monthly tracked users. Startup starts at $279 for 2,000 MTUs, and Pro, self-serve and billed monthly, from $750 / mo with A/B testing, custom CSS and localization into 5 languages.

Chameleon's homepage, October 2026
chameleon.io, October 2026
Why pick Chameleon over Pendo
  • Printed prices for three of its four plans, and Pro is bought by credit card without a sales call
  • A/B tests with goals, themes and custom CSS, and localization on Pro
  • A 14-day trial with Enterprise-level access and no card, per its pricing page's hero and FAQ
  • Ease of use is praised in 216 of the 364 reviews we read, against 720 of Pendo's 1,791
Keep in mind
  • Its analytics cover how each experience performs; the pages we read don't describe analytics of general product usage, Pendo's most-praised theme
  • Its help center says native iOS and Android apps aren't supported; experiences can show in mobile browsers
  • Live experiences are capped at 10 on Startup and 20 on Pro; Growth is from $1,750 / mo billed annually
  • The learning curve (81 of 364) and builder friction (70) are among the most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use216/364 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals152/364 reviews
  • Customer support and success team132/364 reviews

Criticised for

  • Learning curve, hard-to-find settings81/364 reviews
  • Missing features72/364 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction70/364 reviews

All 364 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2016–2026.

Our Chameleon review · Pricing read on chameleon.io checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Userflow

Best for small teams that want a low printed price and unlimited seats

Entry price
$300 / moEssentials, billed monthly (or $240 / mo billed yearly) · 1,000 MAUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

Userflow builds tours, checklists, tooltips, announcements, surveys and a resource center for web apps. Essentials is $300 / mo billed monthly, or $240 / mo billed annually, for 1,000 MAUs, with unlimited experiences and team members on every plan. Reviewers praise its ease of use more than anything else (99 of all 125 reviews on G2).

Userflow's homepage, October 2026
userflow.com, October 2026
Why pick Userflow over Pendo
  • A printed price for 1,000 MAUs and a 14-day trial without a card
  • Unlimited seats and experiences on every plan
  • An in-app AI agent that answers users' questions and launches flows, on Studio ($500 / mo)
  • The learning curve is criticised in 13 of the 125 reviews we read, against 428 of Pendo's 1,791
Keep in mind
  • Analytics covers its own flows, checklists and surveys plus charts and funnels; Essentials keeps 6 months of history and Studio 12
  • Its help center says native iOS and Android apps aren't supported; mobile web apps are
  • HubSpot, Salesforce, Mixpanel and Amplitude integrations start on Studio
  • Missing features (28 of 125) and price (16) are the most-named complaints
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use99/125 reviews
  • Customer support and success team52/125 reviews
  • Builds flows without developers31/125 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features28/125 reviews
  • Price and plan structure16/125 reviews
  • Reporting and analytics depth15/125 reviews

All 125 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2020–2026.

Our Userflow review · Pricing read on userflow.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

UserGuiding

Best for tours plus a knowledge base and product-updates page, at a printed price

Entry price
$249 / moStarter, monthly equivalent, billed yearly (or $349 / mo billed monthly) · Up to 2,000 MAUs
Free plan
Not listed
Billed by
Monthly active users (MAUs)

UserGuiding builds product tours, hotspots, checklists, resource centers and surveys for web apps, and adds a knowledge base and a product-updates page. Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly for up to 2,000 MAUs; Growth, $499 / mo billed yearly, adds session replay, no-code event tracking and A/B testing.

UserGuiding's homepage, October 2026
userguiding.com, October 2026
Why pick UserGuiding over Pendo
  • Printed prices for Starter and Growth, and a 30-day money-back guarantee
  • A 14-day trial without a card, which it says can be extended on request
  • Free until your current contract with another tool ends, per its pricing FAQ
  • Ease of use is praised in 456 of the 782 reviews we read and quick setup in 238, against 720 and 225 of Pendo's 1,791
Keep in mind
  • No native mobile apps, per its own FAQ
  • Starter caps active content: 15 guides, 10 hotspots, 1 checklist and 1 survey
  • Over the MAU quota, guides stop showing until you raise it; Pendo's paid plans keep running
  • Its analytics report on onboarding content; advanced reporting, event tracking and session replay start on Growth
What its G2 reviewers say

Praised for

  • Easy to use456/782 reviews
  • Flow types: tours, tooltips, checklists, modals310/782 reviews
  • Customer support and success team298/782 reviews

Criticised for

  • Missing features182/782 reviews
  • Styling limits99/782 reviews
  • Builder or browser-extension friction95/782 reviews

All 782 reviews on G2, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes. Written 2019–2026.

UserGuiding vs Pendo, compared in full · Our UserGuiding review · Pricing read on userguiding.com checked 19 Oct 2026 · Features read 3 Nov 2026 · G2 reviews read 3 Nov 2026

Before you switch from Pendo

Pendo's analytics reach back to the day it was installed, and that history stays in Pendo, so save the reports you'll want as a baseline before you switch. If you guide users in mobile apps, check the new tool's mobile record first: Appcues lists native apps on every plan, Userpilot on Enterprise or as a Growth add-on and Whatfix on a separate plan, while UserGuiding, Userflow and Chameleon don't support them.

  1. Save what you haveExport or screenshot every live flow, checklist and survey with its targeting rules, and note the events and integrations each one depends on.
  2. Rebuild one real flowRecreate your most-used flow in the new tool with the same steps and audience, then check it on the browsers, screen sizes and languages your users have.
  3. Follow the dataCheck that users are identified the same way, that the events your flows fire still arrive, and that your activation reports read the new tool's data.
  4. Price it, then switchGet a quote for your real MAUs or seats, renewal included. Turn the old flow off only once the new one has passed, then cancel the old plan.

Also considered

  • WalkMe: It sells a version for customers, but its pricing page prints no price, tier or trial, and its analytics draw far less praise than Pendo's in the reviews we read (113 of 583, against 1,393 of 1,791). Whatfix, listed above, covers the same employee and customer ground.
  • Userlane and Apty: Built mainly to guide employees through business software such as ERP and CRM systems, rather than the users of your own product.
  • Stonly and iorad: Built for support content and training tutorials respectively, rather than analytics and guides inside your own product.
  • Intercom: Its product tours, checklists and surveys sit in an add-on to a customer-service platform, and G2 now lists Intercom as Fin, its AI agent, so its G2 rating and review count cover the whole suite rather than the tours.
  • Nickelled: Its site now redirects to Omniplex Learning, a learning and development company, and no page we read describes the product.

How we chose

How the list is ordered. The three picks come first, each for a different need; the other 3 follow A–Z by name. A position is not a score, and no tool paid to be listed or placed.

A tool is listed only once we've read its own pricing page and its G2 reviews. Prices, plans, trials and limits come from each vendor's pages, read through a US browser session on the dates shown with each entry; when a page prints no price, the entry says so.

For reviews, an AI model read every G2 review of each tool, as far as G2's filters reach (for Pendo, 1,791 of the 1,827 it lists; for Userpilot, 1,022 of 1,023), and tagged each one against the same themes for every tool. G2's overall rating and count sit beside our counts; we don't publish review scores of our own.

1,791 of the 1,827 reviews on G2, every one its filters let us reach, each read and tagged by an AI model against a fixed list of themes.

FAQ

What is the best alternative to Pendo?

It depends on why you're leaving. For analytics and flows with prices on the page, Userpilot; for in-app, email and push with every feature on every plan, Appcues; for A/B tests and styling control, Chameleon; for a published price on a web app, UserGuiding or Userflow; for employee-facing apps alongside your product, Whatfix.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Pendo?

Pendo Free costs nothing for up to 500 MAUs, and Pendo quotes Base, Core and Ultimate, so a paid comparison needs its quote. Five tools here print an entry price: UserGuiding's Starter is $249 / mo billed yearly for up to 2,000 MAUs, Chameleon's Startup starts at $279 for 2,000 MTUs (the card prints no billing period), Userpilot's Starter is $299 / mo for up to 2,000 MAUs, Userflow's Essentials $300 / mo for 1,000 MAUs (or $240 / mo billed annually), and Appcues' Spark $3,600 / year for up to 1,000 MAUs and teams of 25 or fewer. Whatfix is quoted.

Which Pendo alternative has a free plan?

None of the six lists one; Pendo Free is the only free plan in this comparison. The others offer trials instead: 14 days without a card at Userpilot, UserGuiding, Userflow and Chameleon, and a trial that starts with a call at Appcues; Whatfix's FAQ mentions one, but its link opens a demo request.

Which alternatives support mobile apps?

Appcues lists native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and Ionic apps on every plan, and sends push; Userpilot lists native iOS and Android on Enterprise, or as an add-on on Growth; Whatfix sells a separate plan for mobile apps. UserGuiding, Userflow and Chameleon say they don't support native mobile apps; Userflow and Chameleon can show content in mobile browsers. Pendo lists SDKs for native iOS and Android, React Native, Flutter and other frameworks.

Which Pendo alternative has the best analytics?

Among the reviews we read, Pendo's analytics draw the most praise (1,393 of 1,791), followed by Userpilot (419 of 1,022), and reporting depth is among the most-named complaints for both (446 and 185). Chameleon's pages describe analytics of experience performance rather than general product usage.

Can these tools be used for employee onboarding?

Whatfix is built for it, with plans for employee-facing applications, and 115 of the 563 reviews we read praise it for internal software. The others are built for your own product, and few of their reviews praise employee use: 6 of UserGuiding's 782, 4 of Userpilot's 1,022, 3 of Chameleon's 364, 1 of Userflow's 125 and 0 of Appcues' 362. Pendo has a Pendo for Employees section, though only 17 of its 1,791 reviews we read praise that use.

Which Pendo alternatives do reviewers find easier to learn?

The learning curve is among Pendo's most-named complaints, in 428 of the 1,791 reviews we read. It comes up less often for Userflow (13 of 125), UserGuiding (78 of 782) and Appcues (63 of 362), and about as often or more for Chameleon (81 of 364) and Userpilot (270 of 1,022).

How did you pick these tools?

Each had to have a pricing page we could read and G2 reviews we could read and tag against the same themes as every other tool. The method section above explains how the reviews were read.

More comparisons